More from Fernando Abrantes

OK. Three tracks from ex-Kraftwerker Fernando Abrantes' debut solo album, Robot Emotions, have been uploaded to YouTube. And what the hell is going on here, really? Is that Kraftwerk theft in "Solo" really ok? And when was it all made -15 years ago? God, I feel so confused.


Fernando Abrantes - Robot Emotions

This is, by appearance at least, a short teaser for "Robot Emotions", a solo project of former Kraftwerk member and portugese citizen Fernando Abrantes. Due out in 2011 on CD and DVD. Could be absolutely anything, but it might be worth checking out.


A Very Kraftwerk Summer

Published late last year, Christopher Hutsul's "A Very Kraftwerk Summer" (Koyama Press) is a tiny little fictional story of a summer spent with Kraftwerk. We follow Geoffrey, a kid hanging out with Kraftwerk - getting haircuts, setting off firecrackers, and going to the movies throwing popcorn at Devo, sitting in front of them.

It's a beautiful little comic book, smaller in size than a typical cd case, with a front cover handprinted on japanese wood veneer paper. And it's "in full color", which in Kraftwerk terms - of course - means red and black only.

Related posts:


DAF in Arvika, Sweden 2009

Last year, Deutsch-Amerikanische Freundschaft released a compilation album and decided to play a few shows to support it. I attended one of these shows, in Arvika, Sweden. DAF performed live, with everything on cd-r except the drums (played by Robert Görl) and the vocals (Gabi Delgado-Lopez), and it was surprisingly excellent.

A few days ago, approximately 30 minutes from this brilliantly minimalistic DAF show was broadcast by Swedish radio SR/p3. As they tend to take down the material from the web after a month or so, and as someone has been kind enough to upload a recording of the broadcast to the web, here it is:


1. Verschwende deine Jugend
2. Der Mussolini
3. Sato-Sato
4. Alle gegen Alle
5. Nacht Arbeit
6. Die Lüge
7. Als wär's das letzte Mal
8. Der Räuber und der Prinz

Images borrowed from Rockfoto.


Recommended reading - Disco Rough

From Australia comes Disco Rough, a fanzine whose first issue focuses completely on pioneering Neue Deutsche Welle label ZickZack Records. The fanzine, published late last year, contains interviews with Wolfgang Müller from Die Tödliche Doris, FM Einheit, formerly of Einstürzende Neubauten, Thomas Meinecke from Freiwillige Selbstkontrolle, Holger Hiller as well as label owner Alfred Hilsberg.

Let's hope for a second issue documenting Ata Tak. Or Cassetten Combinat. Or Kosmische Musik, perhaps. But Ata Tak first please.